A Deer to My Rescue

Have you fallen off one of life’s ledges today, having no strength to get up and climb back? Then the Lord has tucked away a promise in the minor prophet Habakkuk just for you. To visualize this truth for his people that “The sovereign Lord is my strength,” the Holy Spirit switched to the imagery of the deer to emphasize that He, the Lord, becomes our powerhouse, our “energizer” that keeps us going and going and going.

 The deer’s surefootedness keeps him from slipping or falling as he scales the mountainous ridges and sloping hill ledges. So the Lord prevents our slipping and falling  as we endure hardships: the hardship of opposition, the hardship of the  loss of a loved one, the hardship of the loss of sexual control, or the hardship of depression or despondency.

Recently, I felt myself slipping off one of life’s ridges. Of losing my emotional stability. An internal fungus had poisoned my digestive and nervous system. I couldn’t sleep at night. I recalled Macbeth’s words, “Long is the night that never finds the day.” His was a guilty conscience, mine, the fungus I’d had for more than a year. During one of my sleepless nights, the Holy Spirit directed me to Habakkuk 3:19: “The Sovereign Lord (Hebrew, Adonai Jehovah) is my strength. He makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.”

When plagued with that slipping off feeling, I’m learning more each day to take God at his Word and to let him “make my feet like the feet of a deer,” surefooted on any treacherous mountain ridge.

 

 Have you had a slipping off experience where the Sovereign Lord made your “feet like the feet of the deer”? Want to share it for the encouragement of another brother or sister in the Lord?

Leave a Reply

